Embassy of Belgium in Serbia

Belgium in Serbia

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Belgium in Belgrade


Dear visitor,

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of the Kingdom of Belgium in Belgrade. The services of this Embassy cover the Republic of Serbia as well as Montenegro.

Belgium and Serbia maintain longstanding official relations since 1879. These relations are more intense than ever with manifold bilateral contacts in diverse fields. During the Belgian EU presidency in the second semester of 2010 significant steps were made to further the EU perspective of Serbia and Montenegro:  the European Commission was tasked to submit its opinion on the membership application of Serbia. Montenegro received the EU candidate country status.

The Embassy works to advance relations between Belgium and Serbia and between Belgium and Montenegro, through its contacts with the Governments, business communities, civil societies and the public at large in Serbia and Montenegro respectively.

We believe in providing correct, fast and professional services by our diplomatic and consular representatives.  This site aims to offer the most relevant and up to date information for Belgians residing in- or travelling to- Serbia and Montenegro, and Serbian or Montenegrin citizens who wish to voyage to Belgium or develop business with Belgian companies.

I wish you a fruitful visit of our Website.

Your feedback is always appreciated.

Leo D’aes 
Ambassador of Belgium in Belgrade 


20 Sep

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders attended today in New York a meeting organized by Norway and Palau on ocean management. This debate on the sustainable use of marine resources was organised under the name  “The Oceans - a wealth of opportunities - high level dialogue on sustainable ocean management”.

20 Sep

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders chaired today the Ministerial Conference on the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty. This Treaty establishes a comprehensive ban on nuclear testing. It was signed in 1996, but will only enter into force after the accession of a specific category of countries. Eight of them have not yet ratified the treaty: the US, India, Pakistan, North Korea, Iran, China, Israel and Egypt. Every two years, a Ministerial Conference is organised to promote the Treaty’s ratification.

20 Sep

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders continues to follow the situation in Myanmar with great attention. He has taken note of Aung San Suu Kyi’s speech yesterday, in which she expressed regret over the suffering caused by the current conflict in Rakhine State. She has also committed to ensure the return of Rohingya refugees and condemned Human Rights violations.

20 Sep

At the initiative of Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Development Cooperation Alexander De Croo, our country allocates an additional 6 million euros to the alarming humanitarian situation in the DRC. The Minister makes this announcement today in New York, at the occasion of a meeting with the UN Special Envoy for the Great Lakes Region Said Djinnit and with UN humanitarian coordinator Mark Lowcock. Minister De Croo also asks the international community to make more humanitarian resources available to the DRC. 

20 Sep

In the margins of the opening of the 72nd session of the General Assembly of the United Nations in New York, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders took part today to an event about the protection of children in armed conflicts.